The Stauffer Center for Strings, the world’s most ambitious international project dedicated entirely to string instruments and the new home of the Accademia Stauffer, is opening its doors in October, bringing the best of the global music community to Cremona and presenting an unprecedented programme for the 2021/2022 academic year. Alongside historical Maestros (Salvatore AccardoBruno GiurannaAntonio MenesesFranco Petracchi) and the Quartetto di Cremona, more than 40 internationally renowned artists will come together for the first time in a single platform for higher musical education.

All of the Center’s programmes, including the entire catalogue of courses offered by the Accademia Stauffer and the Stauffer Labs, are provided free of charge thanks to a full-coverage scholarship programme, which is a unique opportunity in the panorama of higher musical education. This year will see the involvement of new, expert teachers, collaborations with important specialised ensembles, and residency programmes with prestigious international universities.

The first important piece of news concerning Stauffer’s new academic programme is the creation of the “Concertmaster Artist Diploma“. This is the first advanced training course in the world for concertmasters, and will be held by lead violinists from ten of Europe’s most important orchestras:

Noah Bendix-Balgley (Berliner Philharmoniker), Lorenza Borrani (Chamber Orchestra of Europe) Laura Marzadori (Orchestra del Teatro alla Scala), Vesko Eschkenazy (Concertgebouworkest), Andrea Obiso (Orchestra dell’Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia), Lisa Schatzman (Luzerner Sinfonieorchester), Roman Simovic (London Symphony Orchestra), Volkhard Steude (Wiener Philarmoniker), Olga Volkova (Mariinsky Theatre Orchestra) and Hanna Weinmeister (Philharmonia Zürich).

The students will work with one professor each month, focusing on the orchestral and solo repertoire, developing essential skills for the leading orchestral role, while enriching their network in the international music community. Applications are open until 15 August 2021.