The Lost Music Project is a cooperation project co-funded by the Creative Europe Programme of the European Commission. The project focuses on several key objectives:

  1. Expanding the audience by engaging local and transnational audiences.
  2. Enhancing knowledge of classical music, while cultivating audience tastes and interests.
  3. Making classical music more captivating and appealing by incorporating new audience perspectives.
  4. Creating new opportunities for classical music artists through collaborations at both local and transnational levels.

Led by Forli’Musica (Italy), the project brings together partners sharing these objectives, including the Municipality of Dimitrovgrad (Bulgaria), the Provincial Council of Alicante (Spain), and the AEC.

As a final outcome of the project, a series of concerts has been organised, representing the culmination of months of collaborative work and cultural exploration. The project’s residencies, organised in 2023, offered participating musicians and composers the opportunity to deeply engage with the history and traditions of the host towns. This cultural immersion allowed the artists to draw inspiration from local communities, surroundings, and each other, fostering a rich and collaborative creative environment. The residencies have resulted in the formation of a transnational orchestra, composed of musicians from ensembles from the three areas of interest.

The concerts will take place in:

Forli (Italy) Sala Ex Cinema Mazzini 26 April at 21:00

Dimitrovgrad (Bulgaria) Municipal Theater ”Apostol Karamitev” 29 April at 20:00

Alicante (Spain) Sala de Cámara Ruperto Chapí (ADDA) 1 May at 20:00

Under the baton of conductor Stefano Nanni, the orchestra will bring to life the compositions of the project’s participating composers. Marc Sansalvador Perez, Petar Doundakov, and Simon Stampfer have each composed original works that draw from their insights and experiences gained during the residencies. The pieces have been specifically composed for the project and will be world-premiered during the concerts.

The programme of the concerts will be the following:

  • Marc Sansalvador – For war comes enslaved freedom (world premiere)
  • Simon Stampfer – Immer und immer wierder (world premiere)
  • Petar Doundakov – The Poet and the revolution (world premiere)
  • Petko Stainov – Thrakian dances: Paidushko horo
  • Pantcho Vladigerov – Sarabande
  • Ruperto Chapí – La Revoltosa: Preludio

Do not miss the opportunity to learn more about the project and to experience the concerts and the tour first-hand by following the LOST MUSIC social media channels:


The musicians

Katia Mattioli (Violin)

Pavel Penchev Penev (Violin)

María Micó Vidal (Violin) 

Vanja Skokovič Jovanovič (Violin)

Rafael Carrasco Tomé (Violin)

Antonio Lubiani (Violin)

Simona Cavuoto (Violin)

Davide Simonelli (Violin)

Martina Iacò (Viola)

Darya Filippenko (Viola)

Alberto Marcelo Castillo (Viola)

Sebastiano Severi (Cello)

Urszula Natalia Kopijkowska (Cello)

Lorenzo Gabellini (Double bass) 

Keiko Tanaka (Flute)

Rocío Jurado Pérez (Oboe)

Dimitar Mitev (Clarinet)

Veselin Mitev (Clarinet)

Zhivko Vasilev (Trumpet)

Pau Joan Català Garrigós (French Horn)

Dian Donchev (Trombone)

Ivan Tonev (Percussion)