The “Bologna” working group

The “Bologna” working group was developed following the results of the “Tuning” working group produced during the first cycle of “Polifonia”, focusing on the more technical details of the “Bologna” process, such as the use of learning outcomes and competences, internal quality assurance, assessment and curriculum design. This group also investigated how far the developed tools were already being used in European conservatoires, and offered counselling visits for Higher Music Education institutions in Europe wishing to discuss specific topics related to the Bologna Process.


The outcomes of the working group’s work were:

  • Seven working group meetings
  • The publication of the document Reference Points for the Design and Delivery of Degree Programmes in Music, which included a set of learning outcomes and competences to describe the 1st, 2nd and 3rd cycles in higher music education and provides a clear overview of the higher music education sector to a wider audience by using the ‘Tuning’ methodology.
  • The production of the handbook Admission and Assessment in Higher Music Education as a comprehensive guide to admission and assessment procedures and issues that arise in such procedures.
  • An impact assessment on the use of ‘Polifonia’ Tools in order to evaluate the use of the various ‘Polifonia’ tools in existence
  • The organisation of a conference entitled ‘After Tuning There Is Articulation – Towards a stronger subject-specific dimension of the Bologna process after 2010, with music as an example’
  • Counselling visits to higher music education institutions with the “Polifonia Counsellors


The members of the Polifonia ‘Bologna’ working group were:
  • Jacques Moreau (Co-chair – Cefedem Rhône-Alpes, Lyon)
  • Ester Tomasi-Fumics (Co-chair – University of Music and Performing Arts, Vienna)
  • Hannu Apajalahti (Sibelius Academy, Helsinki)
  • Bruno Carioti (Conservatorio di Musica “Alfredo Casella” L’Aquila, L’Aquila)
  • Jörg Linowitzki (Lübeck University of Music, Lübeck)
  • Jan Rademakers (Conservatorium Maastricht, Maastricht)
  • Håkon Stødle (University of Tromsø – Music Conservatory, Tromsø)